Heart | Anahata | Heart Chakra

This chakra is about learning to give, to receive and find balance

Below are some insights in to how you might better balance  in your heart chakra

Send me this as a FREE downloadable PDF

Send me a FREE chakra healy balance & reading

Sign me up for the 2023 PathFor JOY 5 day challenge

Seed Mantra: Yam

Element: Air

Orisha: Ogun or Oshun or Oxossi

Color: Green

Shape: Star with six points (Two triangles)

Petals of the lotus: 12

Position: Center of chest

Primary Planet: Venus

Developmental stage: 4-7yrs

What is this chakra all about (Reclaim to heal)? Relationships/Others, Grief

In the Chandogya Upanishad it says: “In the centre of the body there is a little shrine surrounded by a wall with eleven doors. Hidden within the shrine a Lotus blossoms, and within this there is a tiny, little room.” This tiny room in the heart of the Lotus is the Ātmā: our true Self. Just as the whole tree is already contained and present within a seed, the essence of the entire cosmos exists in the centre of the Heart Chakra.

Resentment, desire, obsession, fanaticism and dependency are negative qualities that reside here. If the mind and consciousness are not pure, misleading thoughts and feelings, fixed ideas and complexes that affect us physically and psychically arise in the Anāhata Chakra. When we keep the heart closed for fear of further injuries, we block our feelings and prevent them from being assimilated or expressed. Two problems that we encounter in the Anāhata Chakra are worldly attachment and dependency. Often we feel we are tied to someone but are not necessarily happy about the relationship. A communal bond can be found everywhere in nature and is important for the maintenance of social order. But if we have fulfilled our duties in life and are still unable to release ourselves from the constant worry of family and possessions, this indicates a false sense of attachment. And, apart from the ego, this is one of the biggest hurdles on the spiritual path.

The animal symbol of the Anāhata Chakra is a black antelope. The antelope is fast and powerful, and at the same time delicate and sensitive. With its refined senses it senses danger well in advance. It is vigilant day and night, just as we should be on our spiritual path.

Anahata is associated to the element of Air. When air is in motion it develops an immense power. Storms can even uproot strong trees and destroy whole houses. Infinite power also exists within the Anāhata Chakra; and it can be utilised positively or negatively. Just like a raging storm, anger and fury can devastate everything positive and beautiful that we have built in our lives; but the power of love is capable of achieving miracles and moving mountains.

The divinities of the Anāhata Chakra are SHIVA and SHAKTI . Shiva (or Purusha) is pure consciousness that steers us towards goodness and the Supreme Self. Shakti (or Prakriti) is the Divine power through which consciousness manifests. The aspects of Purusha and Prakriti are also found in Sūrya Shakti (the power of the sun) and Chandra Shakti (the power of the moon).

The VISHNU GRANTHI, the source of Ānanda, bliss, is located in the Anāhata Chakra. The purer the Anāhata Chakra, the deeper the feelings of joy, warmth and happiness. The Anāhata Chakra is the door through which we are able to reach the Sahasrāra Chakra, where knowledge of our true Self is revealed. Divine consciousness streams from “the door to the Supreme” (Brahmarandhra ) to the Anāhata Chakra through the Brahma Nādī. With this the circle closes: Consciousness is filled with love, and love is enlightened by consciousness.

Possible signs your Heart Chakra is blocked:

Being afraid of commitment and feel like you have to please others to be loved Having been hurt by others in relationships you now feel like you have to guard yourself from being hurt again (being overly defensive and closed) Experiencing jealousy (fear of intimacy or being deserted)

Being co-dependant (relying on other’s approval, energy and attention, trying to please at all costs, or becoming needy in relationships, leading to anger and distrust Having trouble with giving and receiving love and being compassionate towards others.
Always putting oneself in the role of the saviour or the rescuer or playing the victim and holding grudges.
A weak heart chakra can also be at the root of heart disease, asthma, and allergies

In balancing our heart chakra we might:

Become more comfortable in our relationships
Give and receive love more easily
Experience a heartfelt sense of gratitude for how wonderful your life is Appreciate others more
Feel an increase in compassion for yourself and others (without feeling sorry for anyone)
Develop a higher sense of awareness and sensitivity
Emphasize a sense of purity, innocence, and magnetism
Experience an inner balancing of female and male energies

Suggestions To Further Balance Your Heart Chakra
Movement: Partner dances
Healing: Past relationships
Chant: (In Sanskrit a “seed” is called a Bija. And is used in Vedic traditions as a tool for the expansion and widening of one’s mind through sound vibrations. In its most literal translation it is planting the seed of liberation).

Suggested Seed Mantra: Yam
Oils: (Burn them in an oil burner or sprinkle on a candle) RoseGeraniumJasmineBergamotYang YangNeroli
Colour: It is said that by dressing all in one colour, we increase the size of our aura, and that dressing in the colour of one chakra will also help it to open. The colour assigned to the Anahata Chakra is GREEN. The colour green symbolizes health, prosperity and abundance.
Crystals: (Use them for meditation or have one nearby when you sleep)
Pink Quartz, Clear Quartz, Jade, Green Calcite
Meditation: Sit comfortably with the spine straight (pole of the body), the shoulders relaxed and the chest open. Rub the hands to activate the heart chakras in the palms of your hands, then lightly press the hands together at the level of your heart (see if you can find a little notch where the knuckles of the thumbs can fit). Breathe slowly, softening your gaze or closing the eyes. Visualise the center of your chest feeling warm and radiant, full of an emerald green light, radiating out from the center of your heart into the rest of your body. Feel this energy flowing out into the arms and hands, and flowing back into the heart. Stay with this visualization for one to five minutes. Inhale the arms up towards the sky, connecting with the heavens, then exhale and lower the palms lightly to the floor, connecting with the earth and giving thanks.

Want to learn more? Sign up for one of our PathFor Joy workshops!

Other ways to open your heart chakra:

Cultivate your appreciation for beauty, whether it’s in nature, people or in the arts Engage in activities that feed your heart

Express your gratitude, even if it’s in silence; you can be grateful for the presence of other people in your life or simply for good things that make your life easier and happier

Nādī Shodhana (Alternate Nostril Breathing) unites and harmonises these two main Nādīs and brings the emotions and intellect into balance.

Tapping the thymus (the gland associated with the heart chakra) lightly with the knuckles quietens nerves affected by excitement or stress and brings us back into balance again.

Want to know more? Read Ella’s journey of unlearning using chakra healing…

“The more love we feel in our hearts, the more it will be brought to us”
Deepak Chopra